I was all ready to write a very serious and informative blog about writing (you know, something craft-y and poignant) when I saw this on my Twitter feed.

My favorite line that had my brother and I in tears laughing so hard we couldn’t breathe:

Winner: Fantasy

Within the smoking ruins of Keister Castle, Princess Gwendolyn stared in horror at the limp form of the loyal Centaur who died defending her very honor; “You may force me to wed,” she cried at the leering and victorious Goblin King, “but you’ll never be half the man he was.”

Terri Daniel

Seattle, WA

If you don’t get it, reread it and think about it for a second.

These are the results for the Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest (named after the famous Victorian writer who penned the famous “It was a dark and stormy night”). The other winners and runner ups are here.

