Currently Reading

1)   The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco

Yes, I am still reading this one. I keep getting interesting books and I want to read them right away so I read this between whatever I’m currently reading.

2)   Traitor’s Moon by Lynn Flewelling

I think, if I could only ever read one author for the rest of my life and no one else, it would have to be Lynn Flewelling with her Nightrunner series. It is so good, I can’t even stand it. This is the third book in her series. In a nutshell: her main characters, Seregil and Alec, must journey to Aurenen (Seregil’s birth country) to help Skala in their war against Plenimar. Amazing, brilliant, gripping, I can never stop reading her words. I’m only about a tenth through it and I’m already wishing she had a hundred more books for me to read.

3) The Scene Book by Sandra Scofield

I’m already about two chapters in and it’s rhetoric with a few good points so far. I need to try one of the exercises because thus far, I’m not sure if it will help my specific issues.

Read So Far

1)   Deadly Little Games by Laurie Faria Stolarz

2)   Deadly Little Lies by Laurie Faria Stolarz

3)   Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz

I first picked up this series because the same author wrote Blue is for Nightmares, one of my favorite book series. Although this one has a lot of the voice that I loved in her other series, I find that I can’t quite connect with any of the characters. The side characters overshadow the main character with their awesome and while her other series made the danger more believable, I have serious trouble believing: 1) that so many bad things can happen to Camelia (the main character), and 2) that someone can so completely mistrust and misread every person and situation. Seriously, Camelia has trust issues – she even thinks her friends are capable of harming her, in every single book. It’s a little too much. Still, I want to see how the series ends since I’ve already blasted through the three available books so I’m waiting on the last one.

4)   Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs

Meh. It was okay. Cute, quick, entirely unbelievable, and a little annoying (Lily, the main character, complains about absolutely everything and is so stubborn, she deserves much worse than she gets). I loved the love interest Quince but I felt, in the end, that she didn’t deserve him. Predictable and light, it was a breezy read in between heavier reads.

5)   Glimpses by Lynn Flewelling

As I said before, anything by Lynn Flewelling makes me quiver in my seat. This group of short stories mixed with fanart is amazing and rich with details that wouldn’t fit into the main storyline of her novels. Of course my favorite is “The Bond” where Seregil and Alec have their first night together as lovers, but I also loved the story of how Alec’s parents met and of Seregil’s other hopeless loves before meeting Alec. Check it out, if only for the pretty cover and pictures.

6)   Irregular Creatures by Chuck Wendig

I follow this guy on Twitter. He is crazy. Deliciously crazy. When I first saw some of his tweets, I was worried about his cursing. I don’t mind cursing in general but this guy took it to an art form so when his short story collection became available for less than three dollars, I said to myself, “If I’m willing to fork over $15 for an ebook, I have no right to complain about this.” So I got it and said I’d get to it when I’d get to it. I’ll probably do a full review as a separate post since it was so good but I wanted to mention it here because it was really amazing. I loved the first story “Cat-Bird and Dog-Man” and “The Auction” were my two favorites. There is some seriously weird stuff there, some very creepy, some grotesque and crude. Certainly opened up my mind to a new way of thinking about the dark corners of the world.

7)   A Wizard of Mars by Diane Duane

Okay, so, if I had to pick TWO authors I would spend the rest of my life reading, the other would definitely be Diane Duane. I love this series and I’ve been following it for years, ever since I was Nita and Kit’s age (the two main characters). Take magic and make it scientific, then give kids that magic and tell them to go save the universe. That’s the series in a nutshell, complete with solid world-building and amazing characters. I loved this one and only wish there was more for me to read already.

8)   Luck in the Shadows by Lynn Flewelling

I’m just going to do a whole post on this series. It’ll save me time and effort (and I’ve still got a long list to go through).

9)   Stalking Darkness by Lynn Flewelling

See above.

10) Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

Another favorite author, Patricia Briggs always amazes me with her clever characters and interesting situations. In this book, Mercy (the main character) gets into some trouble with a faerie queen and has to get herself out of it. Love the characters and the plot, although I feel like Samuel’s love interest was a little too… packaged. One of the things I always liked about Samuel (both in the Mercy books and in the Alpha and Omega sister series) is that he’s a suicidal old wolf who feels very alone. Now all of a sudden there’s a mysterious new love interest? Blah. Only weird part – never mind that I’m rooting for him because I love him.

11) Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Just finished this one on someone else’s suggestion. I’ve been seeing it around for a while now and I started reading City of Glass from her other series but… well. I have some serious problems with this book. I liked some of it but after all the hype for it, I expected more. Saying right now that it isn’t fair for me to judge it on such a scale but I still feel like: the writing was riddled with clichés and no gripping, unique descriptions; the main character (Tessa) was dull, uninteresting, and completely stupid sometimes (I’m sorry, if I am running for my life, I am not going to compare the person chasing me to a book character I read about once). To it’s credit, the relationships between the characters felt very real, I loved Will and Magnus, the villain surprised me, and Tessa pulled a very clever trick at the end. Waiting for the next one to see if my opinion improves.

To Read

1)   Uglies by Scott Westerfield

2)   Stork by Wendy Delsol

3)   Shadow by Jenny Moss

4)   Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

5)   The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Highly recommended by my brother.

6)   Graceling by Kristin Cashore

7)   Firelight by Jordan Sophie

8) Choke On Your Lies by Anthony Neil Smith

9) The Hangman’s Daughter by Oliver Potzsch

10) Matched by Allie Condie

11) The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

12) Paper Towns by John Green

Absolutely loved Will Grayson, Will Grayson so I can’t wait to read some of John Green’s other books.

13) Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

14) Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Been hearing about this one all over Twitter for weeks now – I’ve got to see what it’s all about.

15) An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

16) White Cat by Holly Black (for some reason my Kindle has the author listed as Michael Frost)

17) Voices of Dragons by Carrie Vaughn

I love, love, LOVE Carrie Vaughn. Her Kitty Norville series is AMAZING. I read the new book the day it comes out every time so I can’t wait to see what else she has out.

18) Songs of Love and Death by Gardner Dozois (anthology)

19) Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon

She’s really nice on Twitter and I really want to read about an Asian main character!

20) Leviathan by Scott Westerfield

21) A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce

Part of my “Read Classics” movement. I’ve read and enjoyed Dubliners.

22) The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Breenan (also has Michael Frost as author?)

23) Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

24) Ulysses by James Joyce

25) The White Road by Lynn Flewelling

26) Shadows Return by Lynn Flewelling

27) The Mermaid’s Mirror by L.K. Madigan

28) The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Wasn’t sure where to put this before. I’m half done with it but… I can’t get myself to really read it. I’ve hated it since I started. The writing is great, the characters are semi-interesting, but the constant tension with the zombies is actually ANNOYING, not good. Not sure if I’ll finish this, which goes against all my instincts.

29) Abhorsen by Gareth Nix

30) The Art of Fiction by John Gardner

31) Audition by Michael Shurtleff

Rereading this one. Even though it’s for auditioning for theater, this is an AMAZING book for writing too. Definitely check it out!

32) Bloom by Elizabeth Scott

33) The City of Ember by Jeanne Duprau

34) Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

I’ve read a ton of her books, including The Truth About Forever, Lock and Key, and That Summer. I love all of them and am looking forward to this one.

35) Discord’s Apple by Carrie Vaughn

36) The Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr.

I know, I know, should have read this ages ago.

37) The Fire in Fiction by Donald Maass

38) Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr

I really like Melissa Marr’s books. She enchanted me with Wicked Lovely and I was surprised that I liked Ink Exchange.

39) The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook

40) The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Recommended by brother. He practically recounted the entire storyline to me in a five-hour sitting. Although I have been informed that I need to read The Name of the Wind first.

41) Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

42) Lirael by Gareth Nix

43) The Magicians by Lev Grossman

44) Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

45) The Passage by Justin Cronin

Apparently it has vampires in it?

46) Pegasus by Robin McKinley

Liked Beauty and Rose Daughter but absolutely loved and could not put down Sunshine. I can’t wait to try this one out. For those looking for information about it, check out Robin McKinley’s website for details on the upcoming sequel.

47) The Red Necklace by Sally Gardner

Technically already started it but I want to start over because while it got interesting, a lot of stuff distracted me from really getting into it.

48) Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch

Recommended by brother – sequel to The Lies of Locke Lamora.

49) The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

50) Sabriel by Gareth Nix

51) Unwind by Neal Shusterman

52) Wake by Lisa McMann

53) The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks

I’ve got the entire Landover series in book form so I’m very much looking forward to reading those. Terry Brooks is amazing – I loved Magic Kingdom for Sale (the first in the Landover series). If you like fantasy, that’s definitely one to read.

54) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

55) When it Happens by Susane Colasanti

56) Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Mariller

57) Lessons in Love by Charlie Cochrane

58) Finding Alaska by John Green

