Archive for February 8, 2011


Different Forms of Editing

So often, we become fixated on getting the first draft done that we have no idea where to go from there. The first draft, in my opinion, should be written in a frenzy of creativity, a flush of crazy energy and the Muse working through you at warp speed to produce something that is raw, powerful, and malleable. Is this how I actually produce first drafts? Sadly, no. I tend to work in bursts – I get inspired for a week and write 15,000 words in just a couple days, then it sits there by itself until I figure out what to do next. I wish I could do the all-in-one-intensive-go thing (I would probably get a lot more projects done if I could) because my favorite part – the part that really makes the book – is right after: the editing and revision process.

Night_Mare is posting her response here if you’re interested to see her take on it (since she’s on her second draft right now and I am still plodding along on my first).

Continue reading

While I was checking up on my normal round of blog posts, I saw this post by Cassandra Clare (author of the Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices, the first of which is the prequel Clockwork Angel, which I am currently halfway through). And wow, that was a lot of links! Anyway, I was thinking about strategies for marketing books, as it becomes more and more difficult to market books (at least if you don’t know how the industry works). Just by visiting these sites, however, you can see a number of ways that Cassandra Clare has done a phenomenal job with her own marketing.

Continue reading

